PDC Day 9: Gary Anderson to claim another whitewash win

PDC Day 9: Gary Anderson to claim another whitewash win

Defending champion Gary Anderson is 6/5 to complete his second whitewash of this year’s PDC World Championship at Alexandra Palace on Friday night.

The Scot started the second defence of his title with a 3-0 victory over Mark Frost and is also not expected to drop a set against Andrew Gilding.

Anderson is 2/1 to win 4-1 against Gilding, who edged out John Henderson in his first match, and is 25/1 to prevail in a thrilling decider again. With the match the first to four sets, a 170 checkout is a real possibility at 6/1, especially from Anderson.

Adrian Lewis (below) is the overwhelming favourite at 1/4 to beat Joe Cullen, with a 4-0 whitewash priced at 7/2. But if Cullen’s first-round performance is anything to go by, last year’s runner-up may be given a stern test of his credentials.


While ‘The Jackpot’ cruised to a 3-0 victory over Magnus Caris, Cullen produced some excellent darts to beat Corey Cadby 3-1. If he can maintain that standard, a Lewis whitewash may not be in the offing with 4-1 at 11/4 or 4-2 at 333/100 a real possibility.

Darren Webster is 7/5 to continue his winning run over Simon Whitlock (below). Webster, having defeated Stephen Bunting on Saturday, has beaten the Australian in his last two major meetings and can be backed at 13/2 to win 4-2 or 4-3.


But Whitlock brushed aside Dragutin Horvat 3-0 on Tuesday and is 11/2 to complete a second consecutive whitewash. Whitlock has also produced the only 170 checkout of the tournament and is 19/4 to take out another against Webster.

In the afternoon session, Jonny Clayton is 31/20 to follow up his giant-killing of Gerwyn Price with the scalp of Ian White.

Michael Smith beat Ricky Evans in a deciding set in round one and is 9/2 to replicate that against Mervyn King, who is 31/20 to win the match and 3/1 to score the most maximums.

Terry Jenkins, set to gradually retire after the World Championship, is 11/10 to prolong his career with victory over Benito van de Pas.