Super League 2022 Betting Odds

The two most important full-time professional leagues in 13-a-side rugby are the Australian/New Zealand National Rugby League (all NRL betting) and the British Super League.

In the northern hemisphere, the heart of 13-a-side rugby beats in the north of England. This is where the sport is most popular and where the majority of professional clubs are based. The English Super League (ESL) is the professional club rugby competition created in 1996 and includes many teams from England plus a few French teams.

Betting on 13-a-side rugby

13-a-side rugby only seems to have really spread in England and Australia. The "13-a-side rugby vs. 15-a-side rugby" debate may seem as old as the sport itself. It is an inevitable comparison that divides rugby fans.

A few details differ between the two leagues, such as the number of players on the field and the number of possible substitutions: 10 substitutions during a league match versus a maximum of eight in a union match. The points are also different: a try in 13-a-side rugby is worth four points.

Rugby Super League is also played at a fast and furious pace. Thus, the oval ball is thinner so that it moves more quickly through the air. Place bets on 13-a-side rugby on our online betting platform.

Betting on the 2022 Super League

Each team plays 29 games between February and September: 11 home games, 11 away games plus the magic weekend and six extra games decided by the positions in the standings at the end of the regular season.

The top six finishers from the regular season enter the playoff series leading up to the grand final that determines the champions. The winner of the Super League plays the winner of the NRL in the World Club Challenge to determine the best club in the world each year.

The team that finishes last in the standings is relegated to the Championship (all Rugby League Championship bets).

Recommended Super League Betting

The St Helens team are three-time defending champions with trophies won in 2019, 2020 and 2021. They are the team to beat. Last season, St Helens beat Catalan Dragons in the final to overtake Leeds Rhinos as the most successful team with 9 Super League titles since Rugby League's inception in 1996.

However, over the entire history of 13-a-side rugby, which spans over more than a hundred years, it is Wigan Warriors with the best record — 22 championships and 19 cups. A recommended bet is to bet on these three teams.


Select or from the live event list to view media.